Skip to main content

NCAA Gymnastics 2017 - Week 2 Preview

NCAA gymnastics is finally back for 2017 and after one week of meets, we're all clamoring for more.

With so much going on, how does one decide what and where and when and who to watch? You're in luck. Here is a short preview of what to look for this week in NCAA gymnastics -




Friday, Jan. 13th Meets

West Virginia @ Pittsburgh 6:30 ET/5:30 CT/4:30 MT/3:30 PT  BroadcastACCN Extra

Kentucky @ Florida 6:45 ET/5:45 CT/4:45 MT/3:45 PT

Florida is hosting Kentucky at their home opener. Florida looked really solid at their meet last weekend against NC State. They basically showed they were unaffected by the loss of their triple B squad (Bridget Sloan, Bridgette Caquatto and Bianca Dancose-Giambattisto). Kennedy Baker and Alex McMurtry are the strong, confident leadership of the team. Amelia Hundley showed up and competed in the all-around and just owned that shit so I'm looking forward to seeing her compete again. For Kentucky, it's all Sidney Dukes who is my adorable red-headed breakout star from last year.

SEC Network + Broadcast

Georgia @ Auburn 7 ET/6 CT/5 MT/4 PT

Georgia had their worst season opener in nearly 20 years at their opening meet at LSU, scoring a 193.600. Likely, they're looking to come back from and hopefully forget the disaster of last weekend. Auburn slid in the rankings from their pre-season position after their loss against Oregon State. They're also motivated by the fact that Georgia knocked them out of the Super Six final at NCAAs/

SECN +/ Live Scoring

7 ET/6 CT/5 MT/4 PT UW-Whitewater @ UW Stout Live Scoring/ Live Streaming

7:30 ET/6:30 CT/5:30 MT/4:30 PT Gustavus Adolphus @Winona State

7:30 ET/6:30 CT/5:30 MT/4:30 PT Hamline @ UW LaCrosse Boxcast

7:30 ET/6:30 CT/5:30 MT/4:30 PT Towson, UW-Oshkosh @ Iowa State Cyclones TV/Live Scoring

8 ET/7 CT/6 MT/4 PT Missouri @ Arkansas SEC Network +/Live Scoring

8 ET/7 CT/6 MT/4 PT Michigan State @ Iowa Hawkeye All Access/ Live Scoring

8:30 ET/7:30 CT/6:30 MT/4:30 PT LSU @ Alabama Live Stats/ SEC Network

 Expect this to be nothing less than a blood bath. Both are strong teams and are top 5 ranked.


9 ET/8 CT/7 MT/6 PT Bowling Green, North Carolina State @ Utah State

9 ET/8 CT/7 MT/6 PT Utah @ BYU BYU TV/ Live Stats

9 ET/8 CT/7 MT/6 PT  Oregon State @ Seattle Pacific Live Streaming/ Live Stats

10 ET/9 CT/8 MT/7 PT Boise State, Stanford, Yale @ UC Davis Live Stats

Saturday, Jan. 14th Meets

1 ET/12 CT/11 MT/10 PT Lindsey Ferris Invitational -Cornell, North Carolina, Pennsylvania @ George Washington Atlantic 10 Media/ Live Stats

4 ET/3 CT/2 MT/1 PT Alaska, Arizona, Minnesota @ Maryland BTN Plus/Live Stats

4 ET/3 CT/2 MT/1 PT Bridgeport, New Hampshire @ Brown

4 ET/3 CT/2 MT/1 PT Kent State, Michigan, Washington, @ Ohio State College Sports Live
This is Washington's first meet of the season since they didn't compete last week. With the rankings shake-ups and the boost from the level playing fields, Washington could come out on top. They have to take down Michigan first though.

5 ET/4 CT/3 MT/2 PT Eastern Michigan, Rutgers, UIC @ Illinois-Champaign Fighting Illini Productions

8 ET/7 CT/6 MT/5 PT Air Force, Arizona State, Texas Women's @ Denver Live Stats

This is Denver's home opener. After a strong start against Minnesota last weekend, ranking them at # 7, they're going to be looking at keeping that spot in the rankings.

Sunday Jan. 15th Meets
1 ET/12 CT/11 MT/10 PT Cortland State, West Chester @ Southern Connecticut

1 ET/12 CT/11 MT/10 PT Central Michigan @ Western Michigan Watch ESPN

2:30 ET/1:30 CT/12:30 MT/11:30 PT Penn State @ Nebraska (Tumble & Rumble) BTN2Go.com (Wrestling Coverage)/Live Stats

3 ET/2 CT/1 MT/12 PT California @ Iowa Hawkeye All AccessLive Scoring

4 ET/3 CT/2 MT/1 PT Missouri, S.E. Missouri @ Lindenwood Flo Gymnastics/Live Stats

4:45 ET/3:45 CT/2:45 MT/1:45 PT UCLA @ Oklahoma FSSW/FCSC/Live Stats

Oklahoma's second meet at home in two weeks. This is the battle of the Olympians versus the NCAA champions. UCLA struggled on beam and floor last week, throwing big skills, but not quite having the endurance built up to competition level.  Oklahoma has already come out posting huge scores already. Get some popcorn handy, this is going to be the coming attraction of the weekend.

Monday, Jan. 16th Meet

2 ET/1 CT/12 MT/11 PT North Carolina State @ Georgia Live Scoring

Popular posts from this blog

Maddie Desch Retires From Elite

Yesterday, US gymnast Maddie Desch announced her retirement from elite gymnastics via her Instagram account.

Maddie, who trains at Great American Gymnastics Express, aka "GAGE" explained she came to the decision to retire due to a nagging injury that prevented her from training at the elite level.

Aliya Mustafina Is Pregnant

After two Olympics, and basically supporting the Russian gymnastics team on her back, Aliya Mustafina is going to be a mother.